Whew! What a week!

Standard

This past week has been quite an exhausting one, so our letter of the week activities have been a little off. Wednesday night was our first night with Q,Β  my second day of giving my students the STAAR writing test, and Briggs’s third day being home sick. We were doing well just to get our typical Wednesday night activity accomplished – no pictures, though…sorry!

Thursday night I was flying solo with the kids while Shawn attended a Chamber event, and since I was still recovering from an exhausting week at school, Briggs being sick (and sleeping HORRIBLY – I only got about 4 hours of sleep for at least 2 nights), we did not do our Q craft 😦 I did have an interesting convo with Ava on the way home from school, though. When I pick her up, she NEVER wants to go home (she knows going home leads to dinner, which then leads to bath, which ultimately leads to her having to go to bed). She gets in the car every day and asks where we’re going. If the answer is home, she cries about not wanting to go home. Thursday evening, she wanted to go to a restaurant. I told her we couldn’t eat at a restaurant every day (we had that week – as I mentioned – crazy week). She of course, asked why. I told her that eating at a restaurant every night costs too much money, and it is unhealthy. To help her understand what unhealthy meant, I told her eating unhealthy foods (gave her examples), would make her grow the wrong way. She didn’t like the idea of growing the wrong way, and seemed to be satisfied that we were heading home now. End of the conversation…so I thought.

Friday after school, I picked up the kids and we hung out at a co-teacher’s house to relax and say sayonara to one helluva week. South College Station just got a brand new Chick-Fil-A, so I figured I would swing by and pick dinner up for the kids. After we picked up the food, Ava gets her nuggets and her fries, and declares that she will only eat 3 fries because she doesn’t want to grow the wrong way. For those of you who don’t know Ava, she is a french fry fanatic…she orders sides for her french fries, not the other way around. She proceeds to not want to eat hardly any of her dinner because is worried she will grow the wrong way. I started freaking out a little bit that she wasn’t going to want to eat, so I had to reassure her that Mommy and Daddy’s job is to make sure she grows the right way, and if we tell her she can eat something, that it’s okay. I also had to assure her that eating unhealthy foods like french fries is okay every now and then, just not every day. That seemed to appease her, and it hasn’t been much of an issue since….Sheesh!

Friday evening, we did get around to writing the Letter Q.

She writes Q pretty well. She really struggles with the letters that have slanted lines.

Saturday was another eventful day. We went to Temple to celebrate Connor’s 4th birthday. His mommy, April and I are college besties. Our lives have changed quite a bit in the last 7 years… going from wild and crazy Thursday nights in College Station to wild and crazy Saturday afternoons chasing our kids around at a park. A little bit different kind of wild and crazy, though πŸ™‚

Lily (Connor's sister) L-O-V-E-D her cupcake!

Briggs going after an older lady...sweet Brynlie πŸ™‚ I think he found her head injury attractive (poor girl took a tumble down the stairs and got a pretty good battle wound)

Ava and Connor playing in an old steam engine train

Lily and Briggs...he can't stay away from those older ladies πŸ™‚

Shawn swinging Ava and Connor

Weeeeeee!!!!

Connor, Ava, Lily, Brynlie, and Briggs
Not too bad for 5 kids 4 and under!

We had an amazing time, and when we got in the car to leave, Ava cried, “I want Connor to have another birthday party!” I don’t think I need to include that we didn’t get to our letter of the week activity today.

We were able to get back to our letter activities Sunday evening. We switched up the days, though, and we read a book Sunday night that started with Q.

Please enjoy this picture for several minutes. In order to get her to take this smiling picture while holding her book so the camera could see it, I had to call Dora on the phone. Dora told me how "Quack! Quack!" was her favorite book, and she would love it if Ava took a picture with it. Ava didn't buy it until I had to call Dora back to tell her Ava didn't want to take the picture. Ava did NOT want Dora to be sad, so this is what I got. Again, please enjoy this picture for a few minutes. I'll wait....

Our bedtime stories have changed a bit lately. I no longer get to curl up in bed with my sweet little girl and read her a story while she loves on Mommy (who am I kidding – it was never like that! It’s usually a fight over who gets to turn the pages, when to turn the pages, “Mommy! We skipped a page!, etc.) Still it has changed – I am no longer doing the reading. Ava now prefers to sit on her stool, be the teacher, and she “reads” the story to me. It is quite entertaining to listen to her make up a story based on prior knowledge (teacher word :p) and the picture she sees on the page. I sit on the floor, and listen intently…if I talk, I get shushed (and a lecture on how we don’t talk while the teacher is reading a story).

"Mommy, we don't take pictures while the teacher reads."

Pointing to a Q

And yes, she is wearing Christmas jammies. Briggs still wears Christmas jammies because he wears what fits him (big boy!). Ava still wears Christmas jammies because they are her favorite!

Monday night we made food that starts with Q. Thank goodness for Mexican food (or Hexagon food as Ava calls it)…we made queso and quesadillas. I was going to make a quiche, but I needed to do that on the weekend, and it just didn’t happen. I know there are a couple other Q foods we could have made, but this was the easiest (and yummiest – in my opinion). Ava helped me cut up the queso, and I made the quesadillas. Her attention span and mood isn’t at its peak on a Monday evening (that’s a nice way of putting it), so she wasn’t too in to helping cook. I didn’t complain too much, though, because we had a hungry Briggs who was wanting food quickly!

Eating her 'Q'uesadilla with 'q'ueso!

Tuesday night we finally got around to making the Q craft – Q is for queen!

Painting the lips pink...
"Her lips are pink like my lips are pink!"

The queen HAD to have a green scepter

And the green scepter HAD to have green glitter
(excuse the bbq sauce on the face...saving for later :p)

Q is for Queen!

I think we will be taking a hiatus from our letter of the week activities this week. I had been planning on doing a review every 4 letters, so this week will be a review week. That works out perfectly with it being Easter, as we will be quite busy. I would love to say that I planned it that way πŸ™‚

Someone also recommended to me that I make a separate page on my blog for Ava-isms. I thought that was a great idea, so I might start working on that. Thanks April Walker πŸ™‚

If I don’t blog again before Easter, I hope you have a blessed one!

One response »

Leave a Reply

